Hotbed Writers

Our main commissions this year are 3 One Act Plays: Necessary Evil from Royal Court young writer, Benjamin Askew; Piglet from Writers’ Guild Winner, Ed Harris; Forgive Our Paranoia from multiple Fringe First winner, Chris O’Connell.

Complementing the main commissions, we have 9 monologues from theatre writing stalwarts as well as up and coming talent.  The writers include: regional favourites, Katy Walker, Steve Waters (The National Theatre, West Yorkshire Playhouse, Out of Joint) and Danusia Iswaszko (Menagerie Associate Artist, The National Theatre); as well as Janice Okoh (Bruntwood Award Winner 2011); Kit Lambert(Award winning writer for theatre and TV); Alison Carr (The National Theatre, Paines Plough); Esther Shanson (The Royal Court, Paines Plough); Gari Jones (The National Theatre) and Tamsin Astbury (Royal Court, shortlisted for The Bruntwood Award 2008).